Connect with us

Oakland Athletics

Ryan Christenson promoted to Oakland Athletics staff

Ryan Christenson joins the Oakland A’s big league coaching staff for 2018.

Ryan Christenson / Photo by Chris Lockard
Ryan Christenson was the manager of the Nashville Sounds in 2017/ Photo by Chris Lockard

The Oakland Athletics announced that Ryan Christenson will be joining their 2017 major league coaching staff as the team’s bench coach. Christenson spent last season managing the Triple-A Nashville Sounds and has been a manager in the A’s system since 2013.

The A’s announced that 2017 bench coach Chip Hale will move into the third base coaching role. The rest of the A’s 2017 coaching staff will return in 2018 in the same roles they held in 2017: Darren Bush will return as hitting coach and Marcus Jensen will return as assistant hitting coach/catchers coach; Scott Emerson will return as pitching coach and Garvin Alston will return as bullpen coach; and Mike Aldrete will serve as the first base coach.

Christenson was a rising star among minor league coaches. He joined the A’s minor league staff in 2013 as the manager of the Low-A Beloit Snappers. He took the Snappers to the playoffs and then moved into the skipper role for the High-A Stockton Ports, taking them to the post-season that year, as well. From 2015-2016, Christenson served as the manager of the Midland RockHounds, winning back-to-back Texas League titles with Midland. Last year, he moved to Triple-A Nashville, where he led the Sounds to a second-place finish in their division.

Several of the A’s young core have had Christenson as a manager for multiple years during their minor league careers, including Matt Olson (2013-2015, 2017), Ryon Healy (2014-2016), Matt Chapman (2016-2017), Bruce Maxwell (2013-2015, 2017), Chad Pinder (2013-2015, 2017), Renato Nunez (2013-2015, 2017), Franklin Barreto (2016-2017), Jharel Cotton (2016-2017), Jaycob Brugman (2014-2017), Daniel Mengden (2016-2017), Daniel Gossett (2016-2017), Ryan Dull (2015), Raul Alcantara (2016-2017), Bobby Wahl (2014-2017) and Yairo Munoz (2016-2017).


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Latest News

Follow us!



Like us on Facebook!


More in Oakland Athletics